I stood in front of the piles of tubers at the grocery store earlier this week, tapping furiously at my cell phone. The next recipe I wanted to try in the Health Promoting Cookbook called for “medium yams.” But what kind of yams and how big is medium?

The latter question was easy to answer – four ounces. So if I needed “8 medium yams” for the soup, that added up to two pounds.

The first question was completely open to interpretation, since we can’t actually buy yams in the US. The Oracle of Google told me that everything we label as a yam is technically a soft-fleshed sweet potato. (Read more here.) Everything we label as a sweet potato is usually a hard-fleshed sweet potato.

Ah, forget it. I didn’t really want a super sweet soup for dinner. I grabbed for the less-sweet, white-fleshed sweet potatoes. Two pounds, in the cart.

Once home, I realized I didn’t have an hour to cook dinner (20 min prep + 40 min cooking), so out came the pressure cooker!

Okay, so in the end, this wasn’t quite Dr. Goldhamer’s recipe. I subbed sweet potatoes for yams, modified the cooking technique, and doubled down on the ginger. Except for all that, I made the recipe as directed. And the results were pretty darn tasty, if I do say so myself! I even got a seal of approval from my husband.

Here’s my modified version of recipe:

Yam Soup

2 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped into 2″ pieces
1 medium onion, peeled & roughly chopped
6 cups water
2 cups frozen green beans
1 red bell pepper, diced
1/2 head cauliflower, cut into bite-sized pieces
7 slices fresh ginger
1/4 tsp powdered ginger

Put the sweet potatoes, onion and 5 cups of water in a pressure cooker or InstantPot. Cook under high pressure for 4 minutes.

While the potatoes are cooking, measure out the green beans; chop the pepper, cauliflower, and ginger.

When the sweet potatoes are done, release the pressure. Transfer the sweet potatoes to a blender or food processor and add the remaining cup of water. Process until smooth and set aside.

Add the remaining vegetables and ginger to the water in the pot. Simmer for 5 minutes. Add the processed sweet potatoes and continue simmering for 10 minutes. Serve as is or over hot grains or potatoes.

