The first recipe I made out of the Health Promoting Cookbook – Chinese Cabbage Salad – was quick to make, but ultimately not as good as I’d hoped. The idea of it sounded good – a simple mix of cabbage, peppers, tomatoes, and avocados with grapefruit juice as a salad dressing. In the end, I couldn’t taste the juice much and I just had a bowl of plain-tasting chopped vegetables. Not much to write home about I’m afraid…

I ate a bowl of it last night, then sauteed the leftovers this morning with a couple eggs. (The second preparation was much better IMO.)

So this morning, I grabbed the book, prepared to tell you all about my first failure. I read the recipe again and realized I made it all wrong! Argh! Instead of mixing the peppers, tomatoes and avocado and putting it on top of the cabbage leaves, I chopped the cabbage up and just made a big cabbage salad! Oops!

I’m going to have to try this again sometime and make it correctly.

Here’s my slightly modified version of the recipe. The original calls for too much grapefruit juice, I think. I also enjoyed it better when I put a liberal amount of freshly ground pepper in. Some may also enjoy a bit of salt, but I didn’t add any. If you make it, let me know what you think!

Chinese Cabbage Salad

2 yellow peppers, diced
1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
1-2 avocados, diced
juice of 1/2 a grapefruit
salt and pepper, to taste
16 leaves Savoy cabbage

Mix the peppers, tomatoes, and avocado in a bowl and toss with grapefruit juice. Add salt and pepper to taste. Spoon onto cabbage leaves and enjoy!

