IMG_3644

Earlier this month I taught another sold-out seminar on food dehydration for climbers and backpackers. It was my fifth time teaching this class in four years. I kind of thought I wouldn’t do it this year, then I ran into the former chair of the Mountaineers climbing committee who told me it was one of the best seminars he’d ever taken at the Mountaineers and that I have to teach it again. He was so emphatic, that I promised on the spot that I’d teach it again.

As usual, the students and I had a great time talking about our plans for the summer, what kinds of things we love to eat at home, and how to dehydrate and rehydrate food. They sampled the food I’d made and exclaimed with delight when they discovered it was possible to dehydrate pie, olive tapenade, and other delicious treats.

I’d been meaning to compile my lecture notes and recipes into a book for some time. Happily my schedule is a little lighter right now than normal, so I’m officially committing to getting it done.

DIY Guide to Instant Backpacking Meals

Right now my focus is on getting the word out to as many people as possible to gauge interest and build some excitement. I’m also outlining all that will go into the book and testing recipes.

IMG_3645

Some things have been immediate hits, like the vegetarian Midsummer Risotto. The Vanilla Almond Cookies pictured at the top of this post didn’t quite work out, though, so it’s back to the drawing board. (I know how I want to tweak the recipe, thanks to insightful feedback from a climber heading to Denali in a few weeks.)

I anticipate the book being finished by mid-summer. If you are interested in keeping up to date on the launch, receiving occasional recipes to test, and more, please visit the book’s launch page and sign up. (I promise no spam and you can unsubscribe at any time.)

