Tags

,

chickpeas

Confession: My mom never made or served chicken salad sandwiches when I was a kid, so I don’t know what they are supposed to taste like. That said, I frequently spend long days (12+ hours) in the mountains in search of far-away summits. PB&J sandwiches lose their luster week after week, so this easy-to-make chickpea salad sandwich filling is a great welcome to my lunch repertoire. I imagine it tastes something like chicken salad, maybe even better!

Chickpea Salad

Serves 4

1/2 cup almonds
1/2 cup carrots, roughly chopped
1/2 cup celery, roughly chopped
1/4 cup onion, finely chopped
1 1/2 cups cooked chickpeas
1/4 cup Vegenaise
2-3 tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp Dijon mustard

Place the almonds in a food processor and pulse until roughly chopped. Add the remaining ingredients and pulse a few times until combined. I like to leave it a bit chunky, but my husband likes to pulse it until it is almost smooth – like a spread. It is tasty both ways.

Layer it in a wrap (these are my favorite) or on some sandwich bread with lettuce and tomatoes or serve it on a bed of chopped salad greens for a very satisfying and tasty meal.

Calories - chickpea saladPhoto by Samira, used with permission

 

